Kate Bush – Back On The London Stage

Well I had to blink a few times when I read that my idol Kate Bush was to play fifteen concerts at the Hammersmith Apollo (Odeon to me) later this year. Some people may think that a bit strange well it’s not really considering she’s not toured since I left school back in 1979. Thirty five years on I may get the chance to see her perform all those magical songs that you can hear me often play in the house. I never thought I’d see the day that this would happen again. Apart from rare appearances for charity events she’s kept away from the stage. It’s all the more surprising when you see her live video from that tour at the same venue that she is a natural-born performer.

I have though been lucky to have met her and even that was some time ago back in 1985. This was in a small Birmingham night club called on Gas Street called ‘Bobby Browns‘ near the ITV television studios. The reason for it was EMI were promoting to the media and record shops her new album ‘The Hounds Of Love‘. The label was apprehensive as she had been away for a while and yet they had little to worry about as it became her biggest selling record. For me it was one of those embarrassing moments when I met her and all I could yes in a high-pitched voice to her saying, “Steven (had a name badge on) would you like me to sign the record for you?” I continued there on only to nod so as not to squeal again. I have to say that vinyl album is my most prized musical possession in my vast collection.

So roll on Friday 28 March at 9.30am when the tickets go on sale, I shall be hopeful. Sadly I don’t have a pre-sale code, even though I was on mailing list since 2009, very odd.

About Stevo Music Man

Music fan (Worked in music 79-92, gigs, collector, Indie DJ) Football (LCFC Season ticket), Travel, Read, Swim, Cycle & Internet.
This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kate Bush – Back On The London Stage

  1. Anonymous says:

    Ohhh pre-sale code! I don’t have one either. I guess this changes the landscape hugely. Feel sad now.

  2. Paul Bennett says:

    will be trying friday morning as well

So what do you think then ....

