Us Brits Just Love Our Radio – Official

Seems we can’t get enough music here in Britain as official figures show we’re all swinging towards digital radio. Be in via DAB, internet or via digital television. Top of the pile is the BBC especially the Chris Evans breakfast show, which frankly knocks the socks of the competition. For me I have to say I listen to a few radio stations around the country and in the evening I tend to settle down with BBC 6 Music. More people are listening to stations on their phones via apps too. Just like I did with my parents it’s now a battle with my daughter to choose the station we’d listen to. It’s that old theory of what comes around comes around. The main thing is music still being accessed by the masses via this medium.

For me radio was my first port of call for listening to music was via the Top 40 chart every Sunday evening. I’d be guessing where the next Slade single would enter the chart during the early the 70’s. Then as the decade progressed it would be each evening tuning in to Luxembourg 208 (whose signal would fade in and out, much to my annoyance) and then from 10pm it was the messiah of DJ’s, John Peel. Heady days indeed and that was when it was broadcasted on the old medium wave and if you were very lucky FM stereo too. Not living near the coast I can’t claim to have heard any of those infamous pirate stations. I do though remember very well Corby’s own pirate station around 1980 with its taped shows. Sadly it was brought to an end by the Post Office whom at the time controlled the airwaves here in the UK.

About Stevo Music Man

Music fan (Worked in music 79-92, gigs, collector, Indie DJ) Football (LCFC Season ticket), Travel, Read, Swim, Cycle & Internet.
This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Us Brits Just Love Our Radio – Official

  1. Linda says:

    What goes arounds comes around, this is very true.

  2. Olivia says:

    Reception isn’t good where I am, so DAB is a godsend. I started off with Planet Rock, then abandoned it when I discovered 6 Music, occsionally turning over to Chill radio. The old days was Radio Caroline.

So what do you think then ....

