Dr Who : 50 Years Old – My Favourite Piece Music

So today the longest running Sc-Fi programme turns 50, Dr Who a show that I do like to watch. Even through the lean years of the 80’s I still watched the Doctor save the Earth countless times. With the revival the show was overhauled as was the music, nothing was left to chance. In fact I actually started to listen to the year CD’s released featuring the incidental music of that particular series. I don’t mean the iconic theme tune either, which I have to say has been refined from its early BBC Radiophonic Workshop days, like a well oiled machine. No I mean the music that made a particular scene all the more poignant. This piece of music by Murray Gold was just that it’s a very sad score.

The Doctor was David Tennant and the episode was entitled ‘The Girl In The Fireplace‘. From a young girl he kept meeting Madame du Pompadour, the French King, Louis XV’s, mistress during her life and saved her many times from the clockwork robots. They fell in love with each other. He said he’d show her the universe but sadly he returned too late, being a mortal she had died. The piece of music is so moving and even now it brings a tear to my eyes, as I have been through a lot of late personally. Maybe I’m just an sentimental old fool, but hey that’s just me.

So Happy birthday Dr Who – Have a listen to my choice of music.

About Stevo Music Man

Music fan (Worked in music 79-92, gigs, collector, Indie DJ) Football (LCFC Season ticket), Travel, Read, Swim, Cycle & Internet.
This entry was posted in Music Video, Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think then ....

