Peel Sessions : Killing Joke

Continuing in this occasional series made possible due to the wonderful exploits by some wonderful You-Tube Up-loaders. I want to highlight some of those bands that John Peel had recorded sessions for his show over the years.

Today we have Jaz Coleman’s band Killing Joke, whom I saw on many occasions live during the 80’s. Whilst I think of it whoever has my size 10 left foot DM shoe which I got separated from at the Warwick University gig on 15 February 1985, can I have it back please. They were a powerful sounding band helped by Youth on bass. Who can forget when Jaz went AWOL and the band appeared on Top Of The Pops with someone is a space suit standing in for him and leaving drummer Paul Ferguson doing the miming vocals. It seemed Geordie kept the ship afloat more often than not. The final session here I remember playing it to death when I recorded it my cassette deck, as to me that was their finest 15 minutes at the Maida Vale studios.

17 October 1979 – Pssyche – Wardance –  Nuclear Boy – Malicious Boogie

5 March 1980 – Change –  Tomorrow’s World – Complications

14 April 1981 – Tension – Butcher – The Fall of Because

11 December 1981 – The Hum – Empire Song – We Have Joy – Chop Chop

About Stevo Music Man

Music fan (Worked in music 79-92, gigs, collector, Indie DJ) Football (LCFC Season ticket), Travel, Read, Swim, Cycle & Internet.
This entry was posted in Music Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think then ....

