Hidden Gems : The Kane Gang – Smalltown Creed

Continuing this very popular viewed series of Hidden Gems (tracks which should have been hits). I’ll present you a track via YouTube, Daily Motion, Soundcloud or another site. These posts are for the music only.

Keeping up the theme of Kitchenware Records demise, I thought I would mention The Kane Gang who remarkably only had a couple of bona fide hits with ‘Closest Thing To Heaven‘ and ‘Respect Yourself‘. That did actually surprise me as I thought ‘Gun Law‘ and ‘Motortown‘ had broke into the Top 40. They were soulful purveyors from the North East and also released other gems such as ‘Brother Brother‘ and ‘Don’t Look Any Further‘. Still their debut album ‘The Bad And Lowdown World Of The Kane Gang‘ should be in everyone’s collection.

So should this have been a hit or a miss?

About Stevo Music Man

Music fan (Worked in music 79-92, gigs, collector, Indie DJ) Football (LCFC Season ticket), Travel, Read, Swim, Cycle & Internet.
This entry was posted in Music Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hidden Gems : The Kane Gang – Smalltown Creed

  1. I’ve got an Album of theirs!

  2. HarrysDad says:

    Just listening to Small Town Creed on an old cassette tape I found after many years. Along with “Brother Brother” one of their best. I have the original 12 inch vinyl as pictured above. Happy days….

  3. Andrew says:

    Was this version specific to the 12″ release, do you know? It sounds very different from both the version on the CD The Bad & Lowdown World and the 7″ single version I have. I love it, but I am intrigued!

    • Andrew if you mean the audio version – that’s a DJ Remix only, where you can get it from I haven’t a clue sorry – yes it’s very different from those mentioned and the 12″ too.

So what do you think then ....

