Kitchenware Records – Hung Up The Pots!

Newcastle based label Kitchenware were a bit like Some Bizzare Records as they licensed out their acts under the label banner on other bigger record labels. So you had Prefab Sprout releasing via Sony (formerly CBS), The Kane Gang and Martin Stephenson & The Daintees through London Records. Finally there was Hurrah! who were distributed by Arista Records. The common theme here was that they signed grounded artists that could also write some very cool music.So today I heard the news that after twenty-nine years the label has decided to call it a day. Other artists of note that have used their services included Editors, Lighthouse Family and Fatima Mansions. Who can forget such brilliant albums as ‘Steve McQueen‘ or ‘Boat To Bolivia‘ that are often heard in my house. On a lighter note the video to ‘King Of Rock & Roll‘ makes me grin alot when I see someone dressed up as a hot dog! Keith Armstrong who founded the label can sit back and feel proud of his achievements.

About Stevo Music Man

Music fan (Worked in music 79-92, gigs, collector, Indie DJ) Football (LCFC Season ticket), Travel, Read, Swim, Cycle & Internet.
This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kitchenware Records – Hung Up The Pots!

  1. Pingback: Kitchenware Records…end of an era? « Steamer Heaven

  2. joe says:

    I was/am a massive Kitchenware Records fan, When I was 17 or 18 I got to visit the Kitchenware Office, the original office, not the posh one they moved too, it was a door next to Woolworths, as I remember, they gave me a minute in there Store Cupboard, I could pick anything I wanted, it was filled with their back catalogue, 12″ & 7″ vinyl records on shelves, but all I came out with was 4 button badges, they asked me why I only wanted those badges and I told them I already had bought all of their records and had everything else in their. I remember them laughing and shaking their heads. Its a sad day to hear their will be no more Kitchenware Records.

So what do you think then ....

