BBC Introducing – Shop Windows Of The Provinces

BBC 6 Music’s Tom Robinson (yes the man of 2-4-6-8 Motorway fame) has a great show of showcasing new talent in the UK. But did you know that you can find alot of regional shows under the same banner around the UK. Some are on the local BBC stations radio airwaves and others via web feeds only. They all give airtime to bands new to our ears. You can read more on the BBC’s Introducing website for all the local variations.

As you know from previous blogs I’ve written I’ve found these programmes an excellent way to find new music by unknown bands. I was lucky on Friday to visit Dave Monks at BBC Merseyside’s studios in Liverpool. We had a brief chat about the state of the music scene and the importance of local radio supporting the area’s musicians. There will be more on my visit in a future blog. Later that evening I attended a gig at Krazy House hosted by Dave which showcased three local up and coming good bands The Reads, Ratty Little Fingers and Get Back Colquitt all of which I first heard on his programme.

I recommend you go on the net and seek out these programmes, as you know I use Radio Downloader software to enable me to listen at my pleasure. I can thoroughly endorse the BBC Manchester, BBC Warwickshire, and BBC Sheffield radio shows to name a few. Strangely I imparted an idea I had about gigs to Dave and by coincidence they’d already been discussing the exact same thing. This involves having home and away gigs where a band from one area teams up with one from another region. They then play a gig at both home towns with the away artist being the support act. I called it simply the ‘Home & Away Tie’!

I hope alot of bands read this and support these shows as we all need new music to hear!

About Stevo Music Man

Music fan (Worked in music 79-92, gigs, collector, Indie DJ) Football (LCFC Season ticket), Travel, Read, Swim, Cycle & Internet.
This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BBC Introducing – Shop Windows Of The Provinces

  1. Pingback: Stevo on BBC Merseyside’s Introducing Show | StevoMusicMan – Ramblings Of A Music Man

So what do you think then ....

