Jackie Leven : Singer Songwriter 1950 – 2011

Only last night I was informed by Mike Scott (The Waterboys) that Jackie Leven was in a bad way. Today I was confronted by news the Scottish musician had sadly passed away. I was lucky enough to see him perform when he was lead singer of  Doll By Doll a few times in the early 80’s. I must admit though that I had attended only one solo performances which was a brilliant and vibrant experience.

There’s not alot I can say but we’ve lost yet another class songsmith. Most people won’t even know his name let alone his music. Here’s a quick glimpse of his output with ‘My Philosophy‘ my favourite song of his. I hope people will now go look for his work which is still available and enjoy his fruits over the years. A good starting point is his MySpace page to hear some tracks. No doubt they’ll release a definitive career spanning collection soon.

For further reading on him check out Arts Desk, Caught By The River and his Website. The untimely death came right in the middle of a lengthy European tour with just some Scottish and English dates unfulfilled. A performer right up to the end. I salute you Jackie.

Bonus Track: Jackie Leven & Michael Cosgrave – Shadow Of A Man

About Stevo Music Man

Music fan (Worked in music 79-92, gigs, collector, Indie DJ) Football (LCFC Season ticket), Travel, Read, Swim, Cycle & Internet.
This entry was posted in Music Review, Music Video and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think then ....

